Crockpot Kahlua Pork

I was curious about this Kahlua pork I’d seen on the cooking blogs — I actually had two recipes bookmarked for it.

Okay, so maybe at first I was curious because I thought they meant Kahlua, the alcohol…not kahlua, the cooking-pig-in-a-pit method. But still.

So in the interest of ramping up my arsenal of crockpot recipes (I love having enough on hand we don’t get sick of them!) I thought I’d try it out.

Problem was, I couldn’t decide between the two recipes. So I read both, took from each what I liked, and made it my own.

The one kahlua pork recipe is oven-only, but I liked those ingredients better than the other, which was crockpot, but in a complicated change-the-heat-after-a-period-of-time sort of way.

Well, I leave at 7:30 am and I don’t get home until 6:30 pm — there will be no changing heat halfway through cooking! LOL

So I made it my way, and it was DELICIOUS. I served it with a baked pineapple side dish (to keep with the hawaiian theme), and rice to soak up the delicious pork/liquid smoke juices. DH loved loved loved it, and begged that we have it again!

My only change is that next time, I’ll make slits in the pork roast and put pieces of garlic into the meat…rather than mincing the garlic and just adding it to the pot!

Kahlua Pork

(Adapted by me from here and here)

2-3 lb. pork roast/butt/shoulder/whatever

1 tsp kosher or sea salt

1 tsp garlic powder

1/2 tsp black pepper

3 cloves minced garlic

1/4 cup liquid smoke (you can find this near the ketchup in the grocery store)

1/2 cup chicken broth

 

Directions

– Mix the kosher/sea salt, garlic powder, and black pepper together to make a spice rub

– Rinse the pork roast, pat dry, and then rub the spices all over it

– Place in the crockpot, fat side up

– Sprinkle minced garlic over roast in crockpot, add liquid smoke and chicken broth to the pot

– Cook on low, 8 hours

– Remove from crockpot and let rest 5 minutes, then shred pork

– Return to crockpot and let sit long enough to absorb some of the juices

– Serve over rice 😉

4 Responses to “Crockpot Kahlua Pork”

  1. Best of…2009 « Kelly Cooks…and other Amazing Feats Says:

    […] Crockpot Kahlua Pork – always in search of new crockpot recipes, this one was a winner instantly. We love to serve it over rice with a side of baked pineapple, but it’s also good as sandwiches, with bbq sauce, etc. […]

  2. Menu Mondays « Kelly Cooks…and other Amazing Feats Says:

    […] Tuesday: kahlua pork, rice, green beans […]

  3. 04.06.10 – Ten for Tuesday « Kelly B Well Says:

    […] Crockpot Kahlua Pork […]

  4. Menu Mondays « Kelly Cooks…and other Amazing Feats Says:

    […] kahlua pork, rice, baked […]

Leave a comment