Lean Chicken Tenders

IMG_1342

I saw this recipe in my most recent copy of Oxygen Magazine (women’s fitness magazine).

I love chicken fingers, so I made these to take for a couple of my lunches this week! They look delicious — I haven’t eaten any yet, though!

Lean Chicken Bites

(Oxygen Magazine)

*Makes 2 servings

Cooking spray

2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts, raw

1/4 cup egg whites

1/2 cup instant oats

1/4 cup sliced almonds, crushed

1 tbsp italian seasoning

sea salt and ground pepper to taste

Directions

– Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F

– Coat a baking sheet with cooking spray

– Cut the chicken into strips

– Pour egg whites over the chicken strips to coat

– In a blender (I used my magic bullet!) combine oats, almonds, and seasonings

– Place chicken strips in a large ziplock bag with the oat mixture and shake

– Remove chicken from bag, and place on baking sheet

– Bake 20 minutes

Nutritional Breakdown:

Calories: 270

Total Fats: 8g

Saturated Fat: 1g

Trans Fat: 0g

Cholesterol: 80 mg

Sodium: 140 mg

Total Carbohydrates: 11g

Dietary Fiber: 3g

Sugars: 1g

Protein: 40g

*Iron: 2mg

“Healthified” Dipping Sauce

2 tbsp greek yogurt, plain

low fat ranch dressing

hot taco sauce

– In a bowl, mix all ingredients together and serve

Calories: 60

Total Fats: 4g

Saturated Fat: 0g

Trans Fat: 0g

Cholesterol: 5mg

Sodium: 290 mg

Total Carbohydrates: 4g

Dietary Fiber: 0g

Sugars: 2g

Protein: 2g

*Iron: <.5mg

Leave a comment