*Baked* Chicken Pot Pie

Chicken Pot Pie; Whole

When I moved to south-central Pennsylvania to be with DH, I quickly discovered when I wanted chicken pot pie, I had to specify that I wanted the baked kind.

Otherwise I was presented with a really thick-looking, homemade-noodle-containing soup. Like this one.

DH still loves his soupy version, but I still love my baked version.

My dad actually prefers it with Bisquick topping, rather than actual pie crust. I like it both ways. 🙂 When I use pie crust, though, I like to make it a double-pie-crust.

I like the recipe from Baking Bites because it’s flexible. For instance, this week, I only had two chicken breasts, a bag of frozen peas and carrots mixed, and an onion. I used those items, kept the rest of the recipe the same, and it was still just as delicious. You can basically add any veggie you like to it (I know some people add cut green beans, or mushrooms…or whatever). My version is below…click Baking Bites for their version.

*Baked* Chicken Pot Pie

(adapted from Baking Bites)

2 – 9″ pie crusts (you can make your own, use Pillsbury, whatever)

1 tbsp butter

1 cup onion, minced

1.5 cups frozen peas and carrots

1/2 cup all-purpose flour

2 1/2 cups  chicken stock/broth

1 1/2 cups milk (any kind)

1/2 tsp dried thyme

2 large, pre-cooked chicken breasts, shredded

salt and pepper to taste

Directions

– Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F

– In a large skillet, melt the butter over medium heat, then add the onions and cook for 5 minutes, or until onions are opaque

– Stir in the flour and cook, stirring, for 1 minute (without the original recipe’s celery and carrots, this is a very dry process…I only did it for 1 minute before adding liquid)

– Stir in the chicken stock and milk;  whisking to break up any lumps

– Bring this to a simmer, then decrease the heat to low and let the mixture cook for 10 minutes, stirring frequently

– Add the chicken meat and peas/carrots, and season with salt/pepper

– Layer one of your pie crusts firmly into the bottom of your pie dish (can use deep dish, but I just used a regular pie plate)

– Pour your chicken mixture into the pie plate, and top with your second pie crust, making sure to tuck the crusts together around the edges

– Slice 3-4 slits in the top to allow steam to escape, and bake for 30-35 minutes, until filling is bubbly and the pie crust is golden

– Let pie sit for 5 minutes before serving

Leave a comment