“Super Charge Me” Cookies

IMG_1315

I see variations of this cookie EVERYWHERE (maybe this is because I spend time reading Kath, Angela, Gina, and Mere’s blogs….).

I figured if I was going to try it, I should head back to the source — which as far as I can tell, is Dreena

These are actually amazingly awesome once you get past the weird amalgamation of ingredients. I guess I’m just not used to cooking “vegan” because I’m mixing this up thinking there’s no way cookies will be the end result to this. LOL

Very tasty cookies — just sweet enough to satisfy, but also full of good-for-you foods as well!

I will admit I had to buy an entire bag of spelt flour and flaxseed meal — so hit me up with uses for it (that means you, above-referenced-ladies…I don’t know anyone else who cooks with this stuff LOL), or I’m going to be making a whole heck of a lot of these cookies in the coming days.

Super Charge Me Cookies

(Dreena’s Vegan Recipes)

*Dreena says 11-12 cookies…mine must be small because I got 15

1 cup quick oats (All I had was old fashioned, and they still worked)
2/3 cup spelt flour
1/4 tsp (rounded) sea salt
1/4 – 1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/8 cup unsweetened shredded coconut (where the heck do you buy this? I had to use sweetened)
1/4 –1/3 cup raisins or chopped dried fruit
3–4 tbsp carob or chocolate chips (optional; or use more dried fruit, nuts, or seeds)
1 tsp baking powder
1/3 cup flax meal (not flax seed)
1/2 cup pure maple syrup
3 tbsp almond butter (may use cashew, peanut, hemp seed butter)
1 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 tbsp organic canola oil

Directions

– Preheat oven to 350°F

– In a medium bowl, combine oats, flour, salt, cinnamon, coconut, raisins, and carob or chocolate chips, sift in baking powder, and stir until well combined.

– In a separate. smaller bowl, combine flax meal, syrup, almond butter, and vanilla and stir until well combined. Stir in oil.

– Add wet mixture to dry, and stir until just well combined (do not overmix).

– Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Spoon batter onto baking sheet evenly space apart, and lightly flatten.

– Bake for 13 minutes (no longer, or they will dry out).

– Remove from oven and let cool on baking sheet for 1 minute (no longer), then transfer to a cooling rack.

One Response to ““Super Charge Me” Cookies”

  1. julie Says:

    no help here on the mystery grains, but the unsweetened coconut can come from the produce section, near the bananas (and, incidentally, coconuts). i’ll take some cookies if you need to bake ’em! :o)

Leave a Reply

