Baked Corn Dogs

I thought these were a bit of a let-down, but I’m posting them anyway because I think they have potential — just with a different corn bread covering.
I think I’d use the cornbread recipe I love, rather than this one. You’ll probably have to lessen the amount of liquid in the cornbread recipe so it sticks to the hot dogs, but I found the recipe below to be a bit bland for my tastes.
It’s still a fun idea, and I’d like to try making them again!
Baked Corn Dogs
(Laura’s Home Cookin’ – adapted from Martha Stewart)
1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (plus more for dusting the hot dogs)
2/3 cup yellow cornmeal
2 teaspoons baking powder
2 teaspoons sugar
Coarse salt and ground pepper
2/3 cup milk
2 large eggs, lightly beaten
2 teaspoons vegetable oil
4 precooked turkey hot dogs (I used the real deal, old fashioned hot dogs in casing. mmm)
Directions
– Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
– Spray a cooking sheet with cooking spray, set aside.
– In a medium bowl, mix together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, 1/2 teaspoon salt, and 1/4 teaspoon pepper.
– Make a hole in the center and then add milk, eggs, and oil. Mix well.
– Dust hot dogs with flour.
– Coat hot dogs with corn meal mixture (it helps to do this with popsicle sticks). Bake until golden, 20 minutes.
– Serve with ketchup if desired.

One Response to “Baked Corn Dogs”

  1. Laura P. Says:

    sorry you didn’t like the cornbread recipe…glad you tried them though. : )

Leave a comment